A chapel already existed in the eight and ninth centuries. It was later demolished to make way for the parish church, in Romanesque style, dedicated to Saint Mary, mentioned in a bull of 1186 by Pope Urbano III. From that period remains the bell tower and some walls of the rectory. In fact, around 1570 the Romanesque church was demolished and a new sacred building was built, dedicated to St. John the Baptist. In addition to the altars it holds real masterpieces, including the presbytery chancel and the benches and the wooden counter of the sacristy, a work from the early eighteenth century by the sculptor Giacomo Luchini.

Gallery
Informations
aria.location: Via Padre Francesco Santabona - 25010 San Felice del Benaco
You might be interested in
Discover related points of interest
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
Parish Church
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
Church of San Pietro
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
Church of San Rocco
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
The Comboni Mission Center
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Tremosine sul Garda
Church of Vesio
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Tremosine sul Garda
Church of Pieve
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
Our main partners