An earlier church from the 16th century was already there, but it was completely rebuilt between 1739 and 1744. The bell tower is an addition a few years later, 1768, and bears the inscription “unam time horam” below the clock.

The single hall has a red and yellow ammonitive floor from the “Marmer” quarries of Mount Denervo, the only example in the valley. It also houses a painting depicting the Madonna delle Garzie, donated in 1714 by Count Carlo Ferdinando di Lodrone.

On Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays following the feast day of the patron saint, Saint Anthony Abbot on 17 January, the feast of the “Holy Sacrament and in suffrage and memory of the dead” is celebrated, for which the triduum machine is assembled. This imposing wooden structure accommodates 365 candles that are lit once a day for the three days of celebrations. The triduum is managed by a Confraternity consisting of the Mayor, the Prior, the Collector of the Dead, two Triduari, two Petoc and two Petoche.

Informations
aria.location: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi - 25080 Magasa
You might be interested in
Discover related points of interest
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
Parish Church
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
Church of San Pietro
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
Church of San Rocco
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Limone sul Garda
The Comboni Mission Center
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Tremosine sul Garda
Church of Vesio
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
aria.poi_location_prefix Tremosine sul Garda
Church of Pieve
aria.poi_category_prefix Culture
Our main partners